Powered by UITechs
Get password? Username Password

Page 1 of 1

Reply to Topic    Printer Friendly 

AuthorTopic
Pastway

USA
Topic initiated on Tuesday, August 10, 2010  -  2:32 PM Reply with quote
Are there any other non-Muslim students?

Heartfelt greetings to you all,

I was wondering if there were any other non-Muslim students like myself who are studying through this site? From what I have read so far throughout various threads, it would appear that I may be a rarity here and thought it would be interesting that if there were any more of us, to share our stories as to why we are studying Islam with our classmates and the site staff in the hopes of understanding, knowledge, and friendship, God willing.

I am a full-time student in the State of South Dakota, USA. For anyone who is not familiar with US geography, we are a very large state in the north-central part of the country and has a total state population of only 700,000 people, less than most major cities around the world. The Islamic community here is quite small and unfortunately is settled very far from where I live, making studying Islam very difficult.

I am currently attending college for Environmental Technology, with the hopes of continuing my education to work in the preservation of Islamic sites in the Middle East against environmental factors. Many ancient mosques are currently under severe threat of permanent degradation from modern pollution and expansion, while other sites, such as the Minaret of Jam in Afghanistan http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/211 are at risk of being lost forever because of natural circumstances such as river movements, earthquakes or, as we are brutally reminded at this time, flooding. My prayers go out to everyone in Pakistan, may you and your families be safe.